Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Congratulations GCA Seniors

2012 GCA Seniors - Kishan Pate, Lauren Carraway, Mary Ann Adams, Stephanie Mills, Katie Harrell,
Caylin Walsingham, Jocelyn Jacobs, Alex McLendon, Abbey Smith, Kyle Harris, Bailey Bristow,
Emma Heard, Wyatt Mentry, Dalton Boyd and Leah Smith.

GCA Graduation 2012

Bob Jones Benaiah Medallion Winner - Beth Hodges

Salutatorian's Abbey Smith & Kyle Harris
Valedictorian Christian Greene
Grace Christian Academy held commencement excercises for 16 seniors on Thursday, May 24th at the Perry Gymnasium. School Board member Edwin Perry welcomed everyone and opened the service with a prayer. Class President Christina Greene presented the annual Bob Jones Benaiah Medallion to the 2012 Senior Class President, Beth Hodges. A saluatatory address was given by both Kyle Harris and Abbey Smith, followed by the valedictory address from Christina Greene.

Young Harris President, Cathy Cox
 Young Harris College President and Bainbridge native Cathy Cox gave the graduation address. Cox, a former Secretary of State and 2006 gubernatorial candidate encouraged our seniors to find a profession that makes them happy, be prepared to change your plans, and find ways to have an impact.  Her comments were "Don't be afraid to change your future plans, don't ever stop learning, and remember to do something that will help other."

Special music was performed by seniors Mary Ann Adams, Bailey Bristow, Jocelyn Jacobs, Stephanie Mills, and Caylin Walsingham.

The presentation of diplomas were given out by Upper School Principal Steve Murr and School Board members Lee Harris and Mark Harrell. A slide-show presentation celebrating each of the seniors was enjoyed by all the family and friends at the end of the ceremony. Closing prayer was given by Pastor Andy McQuaid.

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Senior Scholarships

Bill Reynolds Leadership Scholarship
Kyle Harris

Toby & Katy Dowdy Star Student Scholarship
Abbey Smith

University of Georgia Certificate of Merit

UGA Certificate of Merit
Bryce McQuaid & Beth Ann Hodges

HS Academic Excellence Awards

President's Award for Academic Excellence (High School)

Front - Aaron Carraway, Joey Sloan, Brent Warr, Zyreese Guy, and Chase Harris. Second Row – Kyle Harris, Jeri Sloan, Lauren Carraway, Christina Greene, Stephanie Smith, Kaitlin Adams, Mary Ann Adams, Shelby Woodrum, Caylin Walsingham, Beth Ann Hodges, and Abbey Smith. Back Row – Tyler Jones, Ansley Posey, Niklas Isler, Lexie Goodson, Josh Carnes, Austin McQuaid, Bryce McQuaid, Kendi Castoro, Daniel Ray, Katie Harrell, and Rachel Harrell.

Add caption

Highest GPA & Kiwanis Awards

Highest GPA in Middle & High School:

Middle-schoolers with the highest grade point average are, from the left, sixth grader –Carly Godwin; seventh grade - Mikayla Buckhaulter; and eighth grader Jack McRae. High schoolers with the highest GPA are ninth grader – Josh Carnes; tenth grader – Rachel Harrell; eleventh grader – Bryce McQuaid and twelfth grader – Christina Greene.

Kiwanis Awards for Middle & HS

HS Teacher – Beth Sloan
Senior – Abbey Smith
8th Grade – Jack McRae
MS Teacher – Delrose Betts

Fruit of the Spirit Awards for Middle School

Fruit of the Spirit Awards for Middle School

Pooja Patel - 6th Grade
Harsimran Singh - 7th Grade
Rhaegan Henderson - 8th Grade
Ansley Stuart - 8th Grade
Lindsey Duke - 8th Grade
Dakota Vickers - 8th Grade
Jack McRae - 8th Grade
John York - 7th Grade

Middle School Academic Awards

President's Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence
Mattie Winburn, John York, Sam McRae, Collin Woodrum, Clay Wells, and Jared Duke.  2nd row - Jeremy Greene, Jack McRae, Emily Murr, Kelsey Harrell, Lindsey Duke, Pooja Patel, Eliza Butler, Breanna Pritchett, Carly Godwin, Emily Straughn, and Sarah Castoro.  Back row - Hannah Holden, Annabelle Smith, Perra Harrell, Rhaegan Henderson, Ansley Stuart, Carley Cranford,
and Mikayla Buckhaulter.

"Fair Bear" State Writting Contest
Matti Winburn

8th Grade Woodmen of the World Winners
Jack McRae & Lindsey Duke

Elementary Christian Character Awards

2011-12 Elementary
Christian Character Awards

Seth Parker - 4th Grade
Cassidy Nix - 2nd (Loeffler)
Emma Benedict - 3rd Grade
Griffin Perkins - 2nd (Straughn)
Gabby Hardee - 5th Grade
Rachel Hayes - 1st (Harrell)
Isabella Beam - 1st (Morgan)

Elementary Year-End Awards

Duke Tip Award Winners:
Jared Hiers, Lilah Widner, Lucy Sloan, Caroline Wells, Hallie Jordan, Mikey Harrell,
Garrett Donalson, Spence Butler, and Jack Holden.

Fifth-grade Woodmen of the World Winners
Caleb Harris, Ruth Marie Carraway, and Olivia Penela.

Kiwanis Award
Ruth Marie Carraway with Teacher, Heidi Butler

K3 End of Year Program

Mrs. Parker's and Mrs. Coastoro's K3 Classes finished their year with a
precious"Zoo" theme program.  Mrs. Parker's class included Maddox Cantley, Oathen Atkinson, Maddox Ry Day, Bailey Floyd, Sara Hall, Carlee Mathews, Gibbs Palmer, Allie Severe, Tucker Surratt, and Jack TutenMrs. Castoro's class included Elizabeth Adams, Walker Allen, Abram Anderson, McCartney Bell, Luke Boyett, Tanner Clark, Ean Harrell, Shivan Jariwala, Dhruti Patel, Jada Sanders, Brynn Sorrow and Steven Wainwright.